Frequently Asked Questions
How old do I have to be?
You must be 15 years old to begin a driver’s education program. State law requires that you must be 15 ½ to a get a temporary license. Also, state law allows 13 months for you to get a temporary license from the date you complete a driver’s education course, therefore we recommend that you be between 15 and 16 when you start our course.
How do I get a temporary license?
You can take the temporary license exam at our school. Typically this would be prior to class #4. However, we can arrange alternate times if needed.
What is the Wisconsin GDL program?
The Wisconsin Graduated Driver License program is a gradual approach to license drivers under the age of 18. For more information: http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/drivers/teens/gdlfaqs.htm
How do I enroll at Drive-For-Life Driving School LLC?
Just call 608-772-7767 or email, (be sure to include the class you would like to attend, your name, address, email address and a phone number - we will confirm via email before enrolling any student).
What about behind the wheel lessons?
Per State Law, you must take your first Behind the Wheel Lesson within 60 days of getting your temporary license, otherwise it will be cancelled. To schedule a drive time, call 608-772-7767.
Do you have payment plans?
Yes, $100 at class one, $100 at class 12, $100 at drive time 2, and $125 at drive time 4.
What types of payments are accepted?
Check or cash payments only.
When can I take my driver’s test at the DMV?
Once you turn 16 and have had your temporary permit for 6 months. To schedule go to: http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/drivers/drivers/schedule.htm
For additional Information on the regulations: